There are 5 classifications. When a cadet joins they start off as a Junior Cadet. For each classification after First Class cadets are trained in aviation related subjects, at the end of which they take multiple choice tests to display this knowledge. These tests have 25 questions and a pass mark of 13.

None Junior Cadet
This is the entry level, gained after completing introductory lessons covering the Air Training Corps, the History of the RAF and History of Flight.
First Class
To become a First Class cadet, Air Cadets must display knowledge in the following areas:
  • Basic Principles of Airmanship
  • Map reading
  • Initial Expedition Training
  • Basic Radio Communications
To gain their leading badge, Air Cadets must display knowledge in :
  • Airmanship II
  • Basic Navigation
  • Principles of Flight
To gain their senior badge, Air Cadets must chose 3 topics form a choice of the following:
  • Piston Engine Propulsion
  • Jet Engine Propulsion
  • Rocketry
  • Aircraft Handling and Flying Techniques
  • Air Power
  • Airframes
  • Avionics and Aircraft Electrical Systems
  • Military Aircraft Systems
  • Basic Air Navigation
  • Basic Principles of Pilot Navigation
  • Advanced Radio and Radar
  • Data Communications
Master Cadet
To gain the final level, Air cadets must display knowledge in three more topics from the list above. They cannot take the same subject they passed for their Senior Classification
Instructor Cadet
Once cadets have reached the level of Master Cadet they can apply to attend a Method of Instruction Course. Once completed they are eligible to wear a yellow lanyard as well as the Master Cadet Badge to show their capabilities to teach other cadets. Topics taught on the method of instruction course are:
  • Cadet instructional techniques
  • Lesson plans
  • Lesson structure
  • Delivering a lesson